Section Divider

ATC Held Fourth Annual Titans Athletic Banquet Friday

May 2, 2011 - Albany Technical College held its annual Athletics Banquet for the Titans basketball players and cheerleaders from season 2010-2011 on Friday, April 29, 2011, at 6pm, in the Manufacturing Technology Center on campus.

Men and Lady Titans were recognized for their accomplishments during the ceremony. Award presentations were also given to the cheerleaders and players by the coaches, as well as a special presentation for “Friend of the Titans.” Keynote speaker for the evening’s ceremony was Charlene Johnson, Athletics Director for South Carolina State University.

Johnson spoke to the players on “Going Pro” and what does that mean. She stressed to the players that their success should be measured outside of sports and they should study just as hard as they play. She asked them would they “go pro” in the NBA or in their chosen field of study?

“You should make your focus on your field of study as enriching and rewarding as your time on the basketball court,” said Johnson. “After graduating from Albany Tech, I’m sure most of you have aspirations to continue on to further your degree.”

After quizzing the players on their NBA knowledge, Johnson applauded the players’ efforts and emphasized on how impressed she was with their winning season. She ended her speech by reading a poem entitled “A Wishful Leader.”

All Men’s Titans players were recognized for their contributions during the season, including Duran Blue, Michael Cofield, Jamorris Gaines, Rahaem James, Tyrell Johnson, Harrison Gibson, Triquenski Hicks, Jerry Lewis, Patrick Lewis, Andrew Reason, Justin Wimberly, Eric Walker, and Justin Wilcox.

Special awards were presented to the following Men’s Titans: Rahaem James, Defensive Player of the Year and Winta Majors Community Service Award; Jerry Lewis, Offensive Player of the Year; Duran Blue, Most Valuable Player; Tyrell Johnson, Most Improved Player; Triquenski Hicks, President Scholar Award; Justin Wilcox, and B.J. Brown Coach’s Award.

The Lady Titans were all recognized including: Deja Cooper, Iesha Dunbar, Amber Phillips, Shonteria Fortner, Bianca Fennessee, Tiffany Harris, Kiyauna Masten, Latonya Peters, Brittany Thornton, Shayla Jester, Quanesha Smith, Jasmine Vaughn, Annquinnette Wilcher, and Ann Wilcher.

Special awards were presented to the following Lady Titans: Shanteria Fortner, Defensive Player of the Year; Bianca Fennessee, Offensive Player of the Year; Ann Wilcher, Most Valuable Player; Kiyauana Masten, Most Improved Player; Quanesha Smith, President Scholar Award and Winta Majors Community Service Award; and Deja Cooper, B.J. Brown Coach’s Award.

The Titans Cheerleaders were also recognized including Shkeba Butler, Jameka Grimes, Jana Sullivan (Young Titans Cheerleader), Myasia Van Horn, Kennedi Walker (Young Titans Cheerleader), Marie Williams (President Scholar Award), and Tanisha Ingram. Titans Cheer Coach, Sarah Spurlin, and Assistant Cheer Coach, Dietra Windom, were also recognized.

Assistant coaches were recognized including: Ravie Givens (Assistant Men’s Basketball Coach); Brandon Dawkins and Delacia Tolbert (Assistant Lady Titans Basketball Coach). A special “Friend of the Titans” award was presented to SOWEGA Tax and Accounting Services for their outstanding service and assistance.


Download the Albany Tech App