Contact Us

  • Adult Education Main Office
    Artesian Hall
    Room 115
  • Albany Technical College
    1704 South Slappey Blvd Albany, GA 31701
  • (229) 430.6615
    Monday - Thursday | 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Friday | 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Beginning October 2020, Georgia now offers both the HiSET® exam and GED test to qualifying individuals. Both tests allow you to earn your high school equivalency credential. The HiSET® exam is one of three tests (GED, HiSET, and TASC) U.S. states and territories use to measure high school equivalency (HSE) skills. Educational Testing Services (ETS) works closely with states to ensure the HiSET® exam closely reflects the skills of a high school graduate and to provide a fair, rigorous exam.

The HiSET® exam is made up of five subtests:

  1. Language Arts – Reading
  2. Language Arts – Writing
  3. Mathematics
  4. Science
  5. Social Studies

To pass the HiSET® exam, you must:

  1. Score at least 8 out of 20 on each of the five subtests
  2. Score at least 2 out of 6 on the essay
  3. Achieve a total combined score on all five HiSET subtests of at least 45 out of 100
  4. Take all subject-area tests in a uniform language (English or Spanish).

The HiSET pass score is based on a national study of high school juniors and seniors and indicates that 60 percent of graduating high school students would pass the HiSET exam.

Click here to find out even more information about the HiSET® Exam.